Need a license to kill unwanted brush & weeds? If you’re looking at prickly pear, cedar, and other weedy plants on your land you may find that to purchase the products that do the best, you need a private pesticide applicators license. The license is needed for application of state limit use & restricted use pesticides.
To become licensed you must take a course provided by your local county office of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service. Once you have competed the course (about 4 hours of instruction) you will need to follow these steps to obtain a testing date. The course is a “one time” training. The course fee is $40 and the license fee is $100. The license is good for 5 years.
In order to keep the license after the 5th year, you will need to obtain 15 continuing education credits (CEU’s) over the 5 year life of the license period. The 15 hours must consist of 2 credits in Laws & Regulations and 2 in Integrated Pest Management. These training opportunities are offered through our office here in the Texas Hill Country throughout the year.
For more detailed information regarding the Pesticide Private Applicator License, click here to visit the Texas Department of Agriculture’s webpage. You can find information on licensing requirements, training, testing, and recertification.
For a list of courses that offer CEU’s in this area click here.
Courses offered by the Kerr County Extension Office will also be posted to our EVENTS section on this website. You may also call our office at 830-257-6568.